Is allowing cards to be rescheduled based on cram sessions detrimental to long term retention?

alan-miller831

14 Nov, 2016 08:17 AM

I've been using Filtered Decks a lot more in recent times, and I'm tempted to check the "Reschedule cards based on my answers in this deck" so that anything I study frequently in Filtered Decks won't be in my regular queues as often, but I'm a bit worried that if I study certain cards a lot in Filtered Decks and they end up not being due for like a year because I studied them several times over the course of only a few days that I'll be more likely to forget them before their next due date as opposed if I just studied them normally.

I guess in short, which do you think is more effective/efficient?

Study one card 20 times in 3 days then don't study it again for years
or
Study that card once one day, then once again in 4 days, then once again in 10 days, etc. having the gap gradually increase.

I'm just not sure if when I cram cards that the intervals will be increased at an appropriate rate. If I do study something many times but only for a few days, will I really remember that information for as long as the intervals could be increased after answering them 20 times?

Not sure if anyone has statistics on this or anything, but any information would be appreciated.

P.S.
The reason I do study certain things so often over a short period of time is because I use Anki's filtered deck search options to look for certain types of words that I could use in specific sentence types.

1. 1 Posted by Vit on 14 Nov, 2016 07:50 PM

In the Manual, search for 'spaced rep':
    "There are two simple concepts behind Anki: active recall testing and spaced repetition...."

I use Anki's filtered deck search options to look for certain types of words that I could use in specific sentence types.

It seems illogical; why not search in the Browser ?

2. 2 Posted by alan-miller831 on 15 Nov, 2016 01:43 PM