How to use Anki to study textbook material (i.e. material that is general and with no specific Q/A style)

jc.imbeault

18 Sep, 2016 12:25 AM

Hello,

I have used Anki to study Japanese in the paste to great success.

I am now studying for a CIPS qualificaton (http://www.cips.org/en-sg/qualifications/) and would like to use Anki to helo with my studies.

The exam for my particular qualification (D1) is "Four exam questions each worth 25 marks, each testing a different learning outcome."

I'm having difficulty figuring out how to write my cards for this though. The reason being that I am learning from a textbook, and I have found it difficult to re-word the textbook material into easy Q/A style cards.

I'm hoping someone here has had a similar experience trying to study from a textbook where the study is more 'general' and can offer me pointers?

Here is some text from the textbook I am trying to memorize:

"Purchasing and supply is often used in recognition of the fact that the purchasing function has a role not just in 'buying inputs' but in 'securing supply'. The role of purchasing and supply is therefore to help secure and convert inputs from suppliers into outputs"

Note: I am able to break the above into small Q/A cards, but the problems that the question part is so short that I get the answers confused with other cards that have similar questions. The whole textbook is about purchasing and supply so questions like 'purchasing has a role in [...]' get confused with questions like ''Procurement is the [process of obtaining goods or services in anyway, including purchasing, hiring, leasing, and borrowing']

1. 1 Posted by ZapBeeb on 18 Sep, 2016 04:00 PM

Usually when you know the matter of study you manage to create cards that do not generate confusion.
    This does not usually happen in the first pass.

I suppose you already know the famous supermemo's 20 rules for formulating knowledge.

2. 2 Posted by etapley on 20 Sep, 2016 12:23 PM