Categories

armatura.ebooks

26 Dec, 2014 12:59 PM

Friends, I wasn't able to find a "category" function in Anki, both the desktop and android versions. Sometimes, in order to answer a particular question, one needs to know the general theme or category of the question. Say, I am studying medical symptoms and I want to learn which disease "yellow skin" indicates. Now, in a patient with liver problems, it indicates "cholestasis", but in a patient with blood problems, it indicates "hemolysis". When being asked "yellow skin?", I have to know the category this questions belongs to - liver or blood? Of course I can tag the question "liver" or "blood", but the tag is not displayed in learning mode, it is useful only for searching or choosing particular series of questions. Adding "liver" or "blood" directly to front (and back) fields is an options, but it makes the process of adding new cards difficult and the fields - bulky and less optimal for memorization. The easiest solution would be a "display the tag during learning" option. Is there one? If not, what is the best available solution to the abovementioned problem?

1. 1 Posted by armatura.ebooks on 26 Dec, 2014 01:06 PM

I understand that adding a "hint" is also possible, but one needs to click/tap the hint to see the hidden text, and besides, if I am studying the cards in both normal and reversed direction, I have to add the hint both to Front and Back fields, which, again, makes the process of adding new cards arduous.

2. 2 Posted by mnhende2 on 26 Dec, 2014 04:39 PM

You could add this to you card design.

{{#Tags}}From: {{Tags}}{{/Tags}}

This would show the tag on the card itself, and not show it if one
    doesn't exist.

3. 3 Posted by Vit on 26 Dec, 2014 06:37 PM

Note: while i was writing my reply, mhende2 posted his :-(
    He will , probably, find some flaws in my reply -- which i would welcome.

1. Are u familiar with the SRS term 'Interference' ? If not --> http://www.supermemo.com/articles/20rules.htm