Study Foreign Language by reading Books: a trick

Boris Gvozdev

14 Sep, 2014 04:04 PM

Hi everybody!

I've been using Anki for more than 3 years already to improve my English, thank you guys for such a great tool!

Here I wanted to share with a little trick of effective learning of a Foreign Language that I use for myself, hope it is interesting to somebody else.

Basically I read books in a Foreign Language (English in my case), chapter by chapter, putting down all unknown words into Anki. But there are a few drawbacks:

1. while reading, you need to switch between 3 windows: PDF reader, Anki itself, and the dictionary. Quite frustrating.
  2. each time I re-read the chapter (e.g. with a tab in a public transport) and I see a word I've forgot, I have a problem. Either I have to browse a dictionary again or I need to open Anki. Not good.
  3. it may be tough to find the context of the word, when I merge/split/reorder decks etc.

To overcome these, I created a very simple online tool (yes, I'm a software engineer too) which allows to extract notes from PDF to CSV. After they are extracted, they can be imported into Anki. Now my flow looks like this:

1. read the book in some PDF reader and create a note for each unknown word. The first line is the word itself, the rest is its definition.
  2. when a chapter is finished, drag-n-drop the PDF file with the notes into http://exportpdf.info. The result is a CSV file: the first column contains the original words, the second - their definitions. (Optional: 2b. edit CSV with some external editor (e.g. Google Spreadsheet editor). It is useful if you want to export only words from a single chapter: to skip the old ones they must be removed from CSV.)
  3. import the resulting CSV as a new deck into Anki.

Bingo! Now the words in PDF and in Anki are connected!

• no need to keep 3 windows opened: only PDF reader and a dict;
  • when re-reading: browse the words instantly;