Coronavirus Economics and whole-deck ANKI pause feature

wmqpmw

22 Mar, 2020 02:44 PM

I’m a former virus researcher with an interest in economics, and while reading up on financial responses to COVID-19, I came across an article titled “Stopping Time: An Approach to Pandemics”. The article was intriguing in itself, and it made me think of a feature that seems needed, albeit potentially difficult to implement, in ANKI, namely a method for temporarily stopping time.

The question “how do I take a break from ANKI for a day” has been asked over the years in multiple threads, and the most frequent answers usually center around some type of chastisement or derision (“you don’t; that’s not how it works”, or “seriously, you can find the time”) or utilization of “review ahead” options, always followed by caveats about this method. A third option of anticipating one’s reduced time capacity and halting new cards preceding the break is also recommended as a half-measure, as is the option of using load balancer add-ons. Personally, I just export my entire collection in an extreme situation (nasal surgery with following two days of heavy painkillers and mental fog, as a personal example), which has it’s own complications.

The ANKI support position seems to be that one’s memory doesn’t stop time, so ANKI doesn’t either.