Double reviews in half the time?

P

14 Mar, 2019 11:45 AM

This is a copy of my post on https://www.reddit.com/r/Anki/comments/b0zbk6/double_reviews_in_half_the_time/.

This post mainly relates to sentence cards for language learning, sentence on front (with 1 i+1 word), meaning on the back. The purpose of this post is 2 things:

Share this idea and see what people think
Get help to develop on addon for it (since I'm a noob at coding)

What is the idea then? The idea is to make 'Show Answer' optional so you score the card instantly based on the Front. I believe it's just slowing my review sessions down and taking the 'flash' out of 'flashcards'. In my situation, I'm using Anki to do drill sentences and active recall. I don't know about you but 90% of the time I don't have to actually check the back because I kind of know the meaning of the sentence (if it's in context and learned well).

Instead of this flow, which emphasises checking answers:

See front, show answer, score card, next, repeat

We cut out the 'show answer' step so we spam your brain with active recall based on the Front:

See front, (show answer as an option), score card, repeat, next

I find that if I do it this way, my brain hurts more (in a good way) because its more rapid fire. Maybe it can half the time you spend on reviews, but I have yet to try it out. Having tried this via the 'Automatically flip card' (I need to set to 1 second for it to work though) on AnkiDroid, my review sessions are definitely more enjoyable and go by quicker.

Addon? I admit I am a noob at coding but I do want to develop at addon where the bottom of the card shows instantly something like this: [Show Answer][Again][Easy][Normal][Hard]. I can go through Python tutorials to get up to speed, but in terms of understanding the Anki codebase, it would be awesome if I could be guided by someone on how the logic currently works.

So what do you think? I wonder if someone has suggested this before.