Stop syncing for Anki 2.0

KKS

13 Nov, 2019 12:03 AM

This comment was split from the discussion: Stop syncing for Anki 2.0

DAMIEN

YOU CAN'T DO THAT TO ME, DAMIEN

I've been using Anki every single day for the past 4 years. I am locked in 2.0 ever since Unicode got SCRAMBLED. You call it normalization, there is nothing normalized or elegant about ignoring user input and actively replacing a character with something else. This software has a good share of Japanese and Chinese learners, ideogram support should be burned in its barebone core.

But it's fine, I don't need new addons. I don't need new features - it ALREADY WORKS as intended, all I have... had to do's not upgrade. But what shall I do now? I'm halfway done with the 7th page in this picture already. Will you take responsibility for all the little orphaned Chinese squiggles? Have mercy...

For reference, my old thread about this is https://anki.tenderapp.com/discussions/ankidesktop/33795-anki-21-lo...

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Damien Elmes on 13 Nov, 2019 12:24 AM

Anki 2.0 will not stop working come Jan 1, it will just no longer be able to access AnkiWeb.

I'm afraid what I said in the previous discussion still stands - normalization improves things for the majority of users. A way may present itself in the future to support these archaic variants without losing the benefits of normalization, but it's not possible at the moment.

2. 2 Posted by lovac42 on 13 Nov, 2019 01:14 AM

You should rewrite the announcement, it's throwing off my translation tools as well. None of the targeted languages comes out sounding as you intended.

`
    For the technologically illiterate,

The version 2.0 of Anki for desktop will still continue to function, but synchronization and the plugin download page will be discontinued on 1/1/2020.
    `

3. 3 Posted by Chris on 13 Nov, 2019 01:19 AM

This comment was split into a new discussion: Stop syncing for Anki 2.0

Hi!