Potentially dangerous log in flow

Tim's Avatar

Tim

03 Nov, 2019 04:27 AM

I’ve been using Anki for about two weeks for Chinese. I’ve now installed it on two computers and just bought the iPhone app.

Each time I log into my account from a fresh install, it asks me to either:
Overwrite all synced decks on my account
Overwrite all unsynced decks on this device

As I’m installing and logging in immediately, I would (so far) only ever want to overwrite the nonexistent decks on my device. But the flow at least appears to allow the possibility of destroying all previous work in my account.

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Damien Elmes on 03 Nov, 2019 11:06 PM

    Damien Elmes's Avatar

    Hi Tim,

    The computer version is smart enough to only offer downloading in that case, and AnkiMobile will likely be updated in the future to do so as well.

  2. 2 Posted by Tim Costa on 04 Nov, 2019 12:53 AM

    Tim Costa's Avatar

    Hi Damien,

    The weird thing is, I was expecting that (dangerous) flow after I purchased
    the mobile version yesterday because I had installed on my second mac
    before my purchase. However, I just deleted and reinstalled the app on
    that machine to test this and saw the flow you mentioned. That’s good.
    Perhaps I had something floating around from a previous install (would have
    been years ago) that triggered the message, or more likely it was just my
    imagination.

    Hopefully the app will be updated the same way.

    Thanks,
    -Tim

Comments are closed, but you can start a new discussion.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac